Heritage Club 2023

The Heritage Club is a group of generous donors committed to ensuring the continued influence of the YMCA on future generations of youth and families through planned gifts to the YMCA. Planned gifts include, but are not limited to, bequests and insurance designations.

A Lifetime of Memories Inspires a Gift to Camp Erdman



Dr. John Corboy, a retired ophthalmologist and founder of the Hawaiian Eye Center, attended the YMCA's Camp Erdman at age ten. "It was a remarkable experience and a turning point in my life," he recalls. He fondly remembers the camaraderie, spirited games, family-style dining,

and essential life skills he acquired.

Recognizing the challenges young people face today, Dr. Corboy believes camp offers a vital sanctuary for growth and learning. Inspired by his experience, he established the Dr. John Corboy Scholarship Fund to make camp accessible to all youth, regardless of financial circumstances. "Camps provide a formative experience that teaches interpersonal skills, independence, and self-confidence at a crucial time in young people's lives," he explains.

As Camp Erdman approaches its 100th anniversary in 2026, Dr. Corboy's contributions ensure future generations can enjoy the enriching experiences that profoundly impacted his life.

His advice to others considering a similar gift is simple: "Something so transformative deserves the greatest generosity to ensure others can have that

experience." Join Dr. Corboy in making a difference—your gift matters.

Learn more about Dr. Corboy's Y story, as well as all his camp adventures in his autobiography, The Life and Times of "Little Johnny Corboy," Volume 1 here.



bit.ly_3XrmXyR

Heritage Club Donors

Joanne Abe Peter and Eri Ackman Robert and Velma Akinaka Donald and Susan Anderson Lana L. and Gordon S. K. Au Dr. Paul and Lindsey Carry Sandra Chang Richard Ching Geraldine Choy Dr. Mark Chun Philip S. Chun Kyung Sun Chung Dr. John Corboy Fred K. Cordes Michael and Lisa Doss Monte Elias Dennis Enomoto Earl H. Fujii Sandra Joy Goldsmith Maria Helena Good Rosalind and James Hamby Audrey and Steven Hidano Nelson Higa

Kenneth Hoo Gilbert Horita Roy Imai Sharon Ishida Michael and Gail Kawaharada Kent M. and Elizabeth M. Keith Nora Kurosu Wyman W. C. Lai Harry K. Lee David C. and Pam Livingston Samuel and Esther Luna Robert K. Masuda and Jane E. Sherwood Stanford and Doretta Masui Rodney and Lena Matsumoto Osamu Matsuzawa Dorothy Miyashiro Michael R. T. Nakao Lorynn Neser Alan and Jo Ann Oshima Karla and Victor Redding Henry Rice Kenneth Richardson Larry and Patricia Rodriguez Liane Sakai Melvin Sakuma Philip Sammer

Susan and Elwood Schwartz Michael Sen Raymond W. L. and Phyllis C. Seto John Stallman James Sylvester Nancy N. and Stuart N. Taba Steven T. Takaki Daniel and Ethel Takamatsu Ronald Tobara Roy and Victoria Tokujo Sabrina Toma and Cedric Akau James T. Tomita Arles Tooker Theodore S. Trimmer Tetsuro Ushijima Cynthia Winegar Randall Winn John Wong Stephen C. L. and Susan Wong Wayne Yamamoto Dorothy B. Anderson Perpetual Charitable Trust Alice E. Davis Trust The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation